Skip to main content



Founder and Director

Pablo J. Boczkowski (he / él) is Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani Professor at Northwestern University. He is Founder and Director of the Center for Latinx Digital Media, and Faculty Director of the Master of Science in Leadership for Creative Enterprises program, both at Northwestern; Co-Founder and Co- Director of the Center for the Study of Media and Society in Argentina, a joint initiative between Northwestern and Universidad de San Andrés, in Buenos Aires; and Senior Fellow at the Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society in Germany. In 2020 he was named Fellow of the International Communication Association. He is the author or coauthor of six books, co-editor of four volumes, and has written over fifty journal articles. His current book projects include Social Media Studies: Comparative Perspectives (with Mora Matassi, under contract with MIT Press) and The Patina of Distrust: Misinformation in a Context of Generalized Skepticism (with Eugenia Mitchelstein, María Celeste Wagner and Facundo Suenzo).

Research Assistant and Coordinator

Mora Matassi (she / ella) is a Ph.D. candidate in Media, Technology and Society at Northwestern University. She holds an M.A. in Media, Technology, and Society (Northwestern University), an Ed.M. in Technology, Innovation, and Education (Harvard University), and a B.A. in Communication (Universidad de San Andrés). She is interested in digital culture and computer-mediated communication. Mora has been research assistant at MIT and coordinator at the Center for the Study of Media and Society in Argentina. Her papers have appeared in New Media & Society, Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication, Social Media & Society, among others. She is currently working on the book project Social Media Studies: Comparative Perspectives (joint with Pablo Boczkowski, under contract with the MIT Press). Mora has contributed to CNN Radio Argentina and co-produced/hosted a podcast with Revista Anfibia about self-tracking technologies. She was awarded with a Fulbright – Ministry of Education scholarship.